top of page
  • Writer's pictureFrancine Beaton

Dancing Light and Fountain Show - KLCC Lake Symphony, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


I don't know about you, but I love Dancing Fountains. If I know a city have these, I'm there in a flash. I'll wait for hours just to see it. What is a dancing fountain, you may ask?


According to Wikipedia, a "... musical fountain, also known as a dancing fountain, is a type of animated fountain for entertainment purposes that creates an aesthetic design (including three-dimensional images). This is achieved by employing the effects of timed sound waves and timed light (including laser) against water particles. The water refracts and reflects the light, and in doing so, three-dimensional images can be produced.


Installations can be large scale, employing hundreds of water jets and lights, and costing into the millions of dollars, or in smaller household forms, where a budget of one thousand dollars is feasible. Musical features tend to be complex, and require a degree of mechanical, hydraulic, electrical, and electronic components out of view that might be as impressive to its audience as the show itself."


The first time I saw this kind of feature was at Lake Centurion in Pretoria many moons ago. Unfortunately, like many things, it doesn't operate anymore. I dreamed of seeing the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc in Barcelona, but I was on a budget tour and it was not on the list. Can you believe that? Anyway, it was on my list to see when I was going to Spain... well, about now, which, of course, had to be cancelled.

I've seen the Dancing Fountain in Dubai and the one I want to share with you today: The KLCC Dancing Fountain in Kuala Lumpur. Lake Fantasy is a man-made lake of about 10,000 sq feet and is sited at the esplanade outside of Suria KLCC. There are two musical fountains which display over 150 programmed animations in a magical performance of sound and water. Not all the shows have music accompanying it, so check out the times before you go.


To my daughter's frustration, I watched it every night while we were there. Yup, I'm a fan.


KLCC Lake Symphony Light and Sound Water Fountain showtimes are 8pm, 9pm  and 10pm daily.


However, KLCC Lake Symphony Water Fountain showtimes (Light only) are 7:30pm, 8:30pm and 9:30pm daily.



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page