top of page
  • Writer's pictureFrancine Beaton

Chasing the Sun - My Favourites of 2019


If you check out my Instagram page, you'll see that I love sunsets and sunrises. I didn't have that many opportunities in 2019 but here are some of my favourites.


The first photo, I've taken on the first night of a road trip which were to take us eventually to Hogsback. It took this when we drove into Bloemfontein where we were to stay over the night, which turned out to be quite a nightmare as Bloemfontein had been without water for two days by then.


The next five photos I've taken in and around Sterkstroom and Molteno in the Eastern Cape. My favourite of these photographs is the windmill while driving on a farm road close to Sterkstroom. As you can see, there are miles and miles of nothing. It was so beautiful and peaceful.

Photo seven of the skyline I took from the Dadaocheng Wharf in Datong District, Taipei on 1 October 2019 during my second visit to Taiwan. From Taiwan, I travelled to Scotland. The second photo in this gallery I took close to Kirriemuir in Angus, Scotland. The third photo was taken as the sun was setting over Loch Gairloch in Wester Ross, in the North-West Highlands of Scotland.

In the next gallery are five photos taken in South Africa between November and December. The first photo was taken the first evening in Port Elizabeth from Pollock Beach. The next two photos were taken early December in East London and the last two later in December in Wilderness.

The last photo I want to share with you I took on the last day of 2019 at Irene Country Lodge in Pretoria. It reflects how we spent the last day of 2019.

Now, in hindsight, with everything that is going on in the world with Corona-19, I'm glad I didn't know what was to come that last day of 2019, and that the virus would bring an end to my nomadic life.

Until next time

Francine


2 views0 comments
bottom of page